Northeast Oklahoma Regional Alliance
Facebook   /   LinkedIn   /   YouTube

NORA Leadership Class Announced

Published: Friday, December 15, 2017

December 14, 2017


For Immediate Release- Tahlequah-The Northeast Oklahoma Regional Alliance is proud to announce the Northeast Oklahoma Leadership Academy, Class II. Created for NORA by Executive Director Darla Heller, the Northeast Leadership Academy aims to bring future civic and business leaders of northeast Oklahoma to know and understand the unique and diverse benefits and challenges in the region’s 14 counties.


The Northeast Oklahoma Leadership Academy participants are diverse from a variety of northeast Oklahoma corporate and civic institutions. The following make-up Class II:


Marie Smith, Cherokee Nation Commerce

Maria Yerton, MidAmerica Industrial Park

Brian Wagnon, Cherokee Nation Commerce

Mike Bovier, Washington County

Danae Floyd, Safenet Services

Mike Mitchell, NE Tech / OMA

Matt Lamont, Cherokee Nation Career Services

Larry Daugherty, Cherokee Nation Career Services

Becki Farley, Jay Chamber  / Arvest Bank

Meranda Williams, Grand River Abstract

Geri Gilstrap, Stilwell Public Schools

Jason Nichols, City of Tahlequah

Alan Parnell, OSU Extension

Roger Shilling, AVV Health Centers

Sonya Smith, AVV Health Centers

Issac Barnoskie, Cherokee Nation Career Services

Charles Gourd, Cherokee National Historical Society

Ashawna Miles, Cherokee Nation Career Services

 The program focuses on topics relevant to current trends and issues. The curriculum provides a framework for understanding organizational and institutional processes and responsibilities for regional planning, problem-solving and community building. Local and regional experts address diverse topics, including ingredients of a successful region, community collaboration, education, economic and social trends. The 10-month program kicks off January 16 in Tahlequah. 

 The Northeast Oklahoma Regional Alliance (NORA) is a 501 (c)3 corporation dedicated to the growth, prosperity, and vitality of Northeast Oklahoma and its communities, by promoting regionalism throughout the area; leveraging regional resources; recognizing common issues and identifying collaborative solutions; expanding regional networks; and communicating our regional story.  NORA serves 14 counties, Washington, Nowata, Craig, Ottawa, Delaware, Mayes, Rogers, Wagoner, Cherokee, Adair, Sequoyah, McIntosh, Muskogee and Okmulgee counties.

# # #