Northeast Oklahoma Regional Alliance
Facebook   /   LinkedIn   /   YouTube

NORA Board Approves Legislative Agenda

Published: Friday, January 26, 2018

For Immediate Release- Tahlequah-The Northeast Oklahoma Regional Alliance (NORA) Board of Directors approved its annual legislative agenda.  Presided over by Chair, Johnnie Earp of Jay, OK the agenda focuses on education and workforce development; resources for communities; healthcare priorities; and transportation.  The agenda can be found on the organization’s website at or by clicking here.

 “NORA strives to be the rural voice of northeast Oklahoma. Together we represent more than 600,000 Oklahomans and those that we elect need to hear from our region,” said Chairman Earp, President of Grand Savings Bank in Jay.

 The development of the agenda was led by the organization’s legislative committee, chaired by Miami’s Steve Gilbert. “This agenda is focuses on the cities and towns that make up northeast Oklahoma while putting a priority on education funding, transportation and healthcare,” said Gilbert, who is the current CEO of the Miami Chamber of Commerce.

 The committee is sponsoring several upcoming events aimed at keeping northeast Oklahoma informed and involved.  On February 23 in Pryor, OK, NORA will sponsor a listening session with the Oklahoma State Chamber discussing the Chamber’s plan for Oklahoma’s future called OK2030.  NORA will further advance their legislative agenda by hosting a reception in Oklahoma City on March 6. To attend either event or to become involved in NORA visit or contact Darla Heller at 918 772-8334 or

 The Northeast Oklahoma Regional Alliance (NORA) is a 501 (c)3 corporation dedicated to the growth, prosperity, and vitality of Northeast Oklahoma and its communities, by promoting regionalism throughout the area; leveraging regional resources; recognizing common issues and identifying collaborative solutions; expanding regional networks; and communicating our regional story.  NORA serves 14 counties, Washington, Nowata, Craig, Ottawa, Delaware, Mayes, Rogers, Wagoner, Cherokee, Adair, Sequoyah, McIntosh, Muskogee and Okmulgee counties.